Uwe D. Neue Award


Nomination for Annual Uwe D. Neue Award in Separation Science at HPLC 2017

About the Award

The Uwe D. Neue Award was created to recognize scientists that have made and continue to make significant contributions to the field of separation science, in honor of the legacy of Dr. Uwe D. Neue, late scientist and Waters® Corporate Fellow. The award will be given at the 45th International Symposium on High-Performance-Liquid-Phase Separations and Related Techniques (HPLC 2017) held in June 2017 in Prague, Czech Republic.

Eligibility Criteria

The award will honor a distinguished industrial scientist, 15-20 years or more after receiving his or her degree, who has made a significant contribution to the field of separation science. In addition, the awardee should be an industrial scientist, and one who was instrumental in the embodiment of technology in commercial products.


The deadline for completing and submitting the nomination information packet is December 10, 2016. The nomination packet will include a CV with nominating letter by the original nominator and a supporting document by a second person. Both letters should describe an individual's impact on separation science based on presentations, publications, patent records, prior honors, and contribution to innovative products as well as impact on others who he/she has managed or trained. The packets will be valid for three consecutive years. The packet should be submitted to Martin_Gilar@waters.com.

Selection Process

Nominations will be considered by a group consisting of selected members of the Permanent HPLC Symposium Committee, and industrial researchers.


The award recipient will receive a commemorative plaque, a $5,000 check and travel support. He/she will have an opportunity to present a research lecture at the following HPLC symposium.

The 2016 award will be given at the 44th International Symposium on High-Performance-Liquid-Phase Separations and Related Techniques (HPLC 2016) held in June 2016 in San Francisco, CA, USA.

HPLC 2013 Amsterdam

J. Jack Kirkland

HPLC 2014 New Orleans

Gerard Rozing

HPLC 2015 Geneva

Mark Schure

HPLC 2016 San Francisco

Lloyd Snyder